

Anga, Pratanga, Upanga

Anga or Body Parts

In dance, the body limbs are classified as Anga, Pratyanga and Upaanga. These are of immense importance and each of them contribute as a small brick towards the human body. The Upanga and the Pratyanga are like small rivers that flow into the main river and makes the main river extremely powerful. When the Pratyanga and Upanga are structured well and well blended with the main parts or the chief parts that is the Anga, the beauty of Human body comes out. This inturn helps in emoting a particular rasa. When a student of dance is said to have mastered the concept and understanding of Anga, Pratyanga and Upanga, he or she is said to have attained Angashudhi. Without the Angashudhi it becomes difficult to emote. The body limbs are used differently when expressing a particular bhava. Anga meaning body parts and shudhi, meaning perfection. Anga SHUDHI is holding the body correctly.

The importance of Anga SHUDHI are followings:

- ✓ It increases Aesthetic sense.
- Dancer looks beautiful with correct Anga. It align body and makes dancer feels good to perform.
- It prevents injury of body parts while dancing.
- ✓ Proper control of movements while executing them enhance performance of a dancer

Demarcation or surface of the body is divided into 6 major Anga or parts:

- 1. Shira (Head)
- 2. Hastas (Palm of the hands)
- 3. Vakshas (Chest)
- 4. Parshwa (2 sides of the Body)
- 5. Kati (2 sides of the Waist)
- 6. Padas (Legs)

Note: Some experts include the neck as well.



Pratyanga:

Pratyanga is defined as "the structure or organ located in relation to the main part or the human organs". These are thus the sub structures or the sub organs or secondary parts that are attached to the minor organs (Upanga) located in relation to the major organs or parts of the human body.

Following 6 are the Pratyanga:

- 1. Skanda (Shoulder)
- 2. Bahu (Arms)
- 3. Prashtam (Back)
- 4. Udaram (Stomach)
- 5. Uru (Thighs)
- 6. Janghas (Shanks)
- 7. Stomach

Note: Some experts include the wrists, elbows and ankles as well.

✤ Upanga:

These are the minor parts that co-ordinates with the Pratyanga. As per Natyashastra there are 12 Upanga. They are as follows

- 1. Dhristi (Eyes)
- 2. Bhru or Bhrukuti (Eye Brows)
- 3. Puta (Eye Lids)
- 4. Tara (Eye balls)
- 5. Kapola (Cheeks)
- 6. Nasi(Nose)
- 7. Hanu (Jaws)
- 8. Adhara (Lower Lips)



- 9. Dasana (Teeth)
- 10. Jithva (Toungue)
- 11. Cubukam (Chin)
- 12. Vadanam (Face)

